Week Ten – Artist Conversation – Thomas Cressman

IMG_6480 IMG_6482This week I got to see Thomas Cressman’s Living Forms exhibit in the Gatov – East gallery. He is currently in his fifth year here at CSULB and is majoring in metal work. His work is beautifully made from metal which honestly made it hard for me to wrap my head around how he created such amazing shapes from such seemingly unshapable material. He specifically uses steel, brass, and copper. He said he uses metal because him to have control and create his own living forms. It was also surprising how he could create such smooth almost soft pieces from a more naturally sharp and stiff material. I love the ocean and anything that has to do with it, especially the sea life, so when I walked in and saw the coral and mollusk pieces I fell in love.

He started creating art while he was in middle school. He is inspired by the scientific aspect of nature like the specific features to them and their behaviors. Him being from Seal Beach makes sense as to why he would be interested in sea life. It took him about a month to create each piece. His favorite was a coral piece made from copper placed in the center of the room. It turned blue because of the ammonium in the copper which I thought was awesome. Science is truly amazing. He wants his spectators to take away an understanding of these pieces from his perspective of the natural world.

Personally, I absolutely love these pieces because it really resonates with my love of ocean creatures. It interests me how scientifically he looks at these creatures because I feel that isn’t a common perspective of art. It definitely made me look at art from a different perspective because I feel that I naturally look from a more conceptual point of view but looking more scientifically is a fun new way. Unfortunately he does not have a website for you to view his artwork.

Leave a Reply

